27 October 2012

Iraq War Inquiry Group: Committee Members

In Iraq War Inquiry Group I gave some background on the establishment of the Group and its objectives.

We are now in a position to announce the members of the committee which has been established to manage the affairs of the Group. The members are:

President:                       Mr Paul Barratt AO
Former Secretary, Department of Defence and former Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Vice-President:          Mr Garry Woodard
Honorary Senior Fellow lecturing at the University of Melbourne and a former ambassador to Burma, China and Malaysia, national president of the Australian Institute of International Affairs. He is the author of Asian Alternatives: Australia’s Vietnam decision and lessons on going to war (2005) and Now We Know about Going to War in Iraq (2007).

Treasurer:                       Mr Andrew Farran
Former Australian diplomat, senior law academic, and business strategist. Company director and grazier.

Secretary:                       Dr Sue Wareham
Vice-President of the Medical Association for Prevention of War (Australia) and a member of the management committee in Australia of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons.

Committee Member: Professor Richard Tanter
Senior Research Associate, Nautilus Institute, and Professor in the School of Political and Social Studies at the University of Melbourne.

Committee Member: Ms Pera Wells
Former Australian diplomat and Secretary-General of the World Federation of United Nations Associations (2006 - 9), when Hans Blix was President; Vice-president of the Australian Council for Human Rights Education and Australian Representative on the steering committee for the Global Interdependence Movement.

For regular updates on IWIG and to express your support for our campaign, please visit www.facebook.com/IraqWarInquiryGroup.

1 comment:

pk said...

Good luck! It will make for interesting reading at least.